Monday, 10 December 2018
Joni Wiman wins Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship
Written by GRC    Thursday, 06 November 2014 20:09    PDF Print E-mail
Olsbergs MSE Ford driver Joni Wiman is the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross Champion. The Red Bull/Bluebeam Ford Fiesta ST driver emerged the winner in a tough championship battle that came down to a thrilling season finale in Las Vegas Wednesday night.
“I’m speechless,” said Wiman as he stepped off the podium, drenched in celebratory champagne. “At the start of the season I would have said I would be happy with a result in the top three of this championship, and to win it in the final race of the season feels amazing.”
Wiman, who moved into the points lead after September’s penultimate round, held off a trio of championship challengers on Wednesday to claim his first-ever Supercars title.
“I’ll admit that I was a little bit nervous today, but I knew what I had to do,” said the young Finn, who entered the race with a 12-point lead in the standings. “I’m very thankful to the Olsbergs MSE team, as well as Red Bull, Bluebeam and all of our sponsors for the great support this season.”
This year marked the rookie Wiman’s first season of Supercars competition with Olsbergs MSE. A protégé of two-time World Rally Champion Marcus Grönholm, Wiman vaulted onto the rallycross scene last year with a dominant season in the GRC Lites category and was promoted into the top class of competition for 2014. He is the first Supercars driver ever to score the championship title and rookie of the year honors in the same season.
“We are incredibly proud of Joni and the entire OMSE team,” said Jamie Allison, director, Ford Racing. “To win a championship as a rookie is remarkable. The combination of driver talent and the phenomenal OMSE team effort were key contributors to four championships in four seasons.”
It is the fourth-consecutive GRC title for the leading Olsbergs MSE Ford team, and the fourth series championship for manufacturer partner Ford.
The Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta rallycross Supercars are class of the field. The powerful, 600-horsepower cars are top performers that have scored countless wins and podiums at races around the world. Featuring sub-two-second 0-60 times, the turbocharged, all-wheel drive vehicles represent the top class of rallycross machine.
“With new teams coming in and everyone stepping it up this year, this was a hard-fought victory,” said Olsbergs MSE team owner Andreas Eriksson. “Our commitment to developing new rallycross talent has paid off with another title and this is a season we can all be proud of.”
Kobalt Tools driver Patrik Sandell is also an Olsbergs MSE success story this season. In June, he became the second driver to score an event victory when he won the Washington, D.C., race.
“I feel really excited about this championship and how it has grown, and I can’t wait to see where the series can go next,” said Sandell who this year contested only his second season of rallycross competition with Olsbergs MSE.
Before moving to rallycross, the Kobalt Tools driver established his racing career as a winning rally competitor on the world stage. In rallycross, he has also proven a consistent threat at the front of the pack. However, misfortune struck on Wednesday and Sandell was sidelined from the main event with a mechanical failure.
In the GRC Lites category, Olsbergs MSE Red Bull driver Mitchell DeJong took his seventh win in ninth rounds, securing a dominant victory in the 2014 championship. Newcomer Andreas Bakkerud, who made a guest appearance with the team in GRC Lites, finished second on Wednesday.
Podium in Las Vegas:
1. Ken Block
2. Joni Wiman
3. Bucky Lasek

Comments (0)
Only registered users can write comments!